On the morning of July 28, 1750, Johann Sebastian Bach awoke to discover that his eyes could endure strong light again. For several months following his unsuccessful cataract surgery, he had been furiously composing in a darkened room. Even more surprisingly, on this day, he was able to see clearly again.
Later the same day, he suffered a stroke accompanied by a strong fever. That evening, at a quarter to nine, J.S. Bach died peacefully. Three days later, he was buried in Leipzig’s St. John’s Cemetery. There was no tombstone.
In 1894, when St. John’s Church was under reconstruction, Bach’s remains were exhumed and placed in the vaults of the Johanniskirche. When the church was bombed during World War II, Bach’s remains were eventually moved to the altar room in the Thomaskirche. Bach remains there to this day.
And, to this day, Bach continues to share his brilliant light with listeners and learners the world over.